Welcome To My Blog

Standard

Hey Guys,

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Leizel and I am a TSW (Topical Steroid Withdrawal) blogger. I believe that it’s important to share my progress with others who are going through the same thing or who is considering TSW. Personally, seeing others’ progress through blogs is very helpful and encouraging for me. I will be blogging about my symptoms, skin products I’m using, treatments and diet and will include photo updates.

I have had eczema since age 6 and was using mild steroids for a long time but very infrequently and lightly. The last 3 years have been very steroid-dependent with 1% hydrocortisone and Clobestol Propionate, the strongest possible steroid available. The last 3 years have also been the worst skin I’ve experienced. It began when I started sleeping over my boyfriend’s house where there were 2 cats, to which I was very allergic. Still with the same boyfriend and an additional 2 cats in his home, it has only been downhill since then.

I am in my second month of withdrawal. Month #1 was horrible, but things have calmed down for now. There are no photos from month #1 unfortunately. In my defence, I was too preoccupied with what was happening to me. The itching was very deep and unbearable. I didn’t think I’d get a break. I expect my symptoms to worsen and improve in cycles like everyone else who is going through TSW. No matter how bad it gets, I need to get through it. There are so many people who have gotten through it and made it on the other side. Let’s march on with them!

3 responses »

  1. Hi Leizel, I hope it’s okay that I shared the link to your blog on my Facebook page for Zi Zai Dermatology. I haven’t read all of your posts yet, but I love that you are willing to share your story with others so those suffering can know what to expect and those of us who may treat such patients understand what you are going through. I wish you good health – and soon!

Leave a Reply

