I’ve Been Doing Circles

Standard

Mom offered to send me away to Vancouver, British Columbia for the Summer/Fall to live with my sister since the weather there will be much more comfortable there. I went for 10 days in July 2010 with my family. I’m pretty sure I fell in love with Vancouver the second I stepped out of the airport. The air was incredibly fresh… cool and crisp. Oh, and the glorious mountainous landscape surrounding the entire city and exciting metropolitan. It’s absolutely gorgeous there and makes me feel sorry for Ontario-folk.

Summers in southwestern Ontario are hot and humid, making it difficult to enjoy the great outdoors. I’ve always been sensitive to heat. In the past, I’ve always been “warm-blooded” and require abnormally cool temperature to feel comfortable. It was 23 degrees Celsius (71 Fahrenheit, if you’re American) the other day and decided to go for a walk armoured by a long-sleeved shirt, jeans and scarf… I was hit with a bad flare. I just couldn’t take the heat…

So I guess it’s very likely that I’d be spending my summer indoors if I stay in here, which would make this whole experience that much more of a drag, but will allow me to be comfortable taking baths and being taken care of ’cause yes, my 26-year-old self at the moment needs taking care of. I wouldn’t expect my sister to hold my hand through this. She is a busy woman and has her stuff going on.  I’d miss Krzys (my boyfriend) terribly, but feel like I’d survive.

The original plan was just to go in September when I know I’d be feeling a lot better, but wonder if leaving earlier and for longer would benefit me. It’s between going somewhere beautiful and comfortable climate-wise, and being indoors and comfortable in my own home. I don’t know if I can make this decision for another month or so. The improvement I’ve seen lately is encouraging, but would hate to go through a flare/panic attack and flew back home in haste (and potentially a waste of money). But if I don’t go, I’ll still be going in September/October and enjoying myself. Hmm… My gut is telling me to wait.

Was reading Jake & Libby’s blog and am amazed by how disciplined and healthy they were throughout Jake’s withdrawal. They just recently made a post celebrating Jake’s healing success. He begun withdrawal November 2011, so took about 17 months to heal (his symptoms were pretty severe).

If you haven’t already, you should definitely take a look at the blog. I love how much Libby has been there for Jake and how they seem to have come out of this whole ordeal. Very inspiring. There’s nothing like seeing solid evidence of healing from what so many of us thought was flat-out Eczema. Before I started with the heavy steroids, my skin was nearly normal– sensitive, but fine all the same. Seriously think that’s where my skin will be at when this is all over. Cannot mother-friggin waaaait!

Leave a Reply

